Don’t miss anything. Follow Us.

Ask questions, discuss, and get wiser

Welcome to the School of Bhakti Community!

Create an account, set your password, and you're good to go! The more you interact and discuss, your rating goes up - see if you can elevate yourself to an 'Illustrious member'!

Notifications
Clear all

Cows Milk and Vedas  

RSS

Hare Krishna

I have a question that troubles me - I am new to ISKCON and know that faith is very important. I agree with every thing I have come across in the Vedas in that it is proved to be factual. Prime examples of this are:

- cow urine not being toxic and in fact being the opposite (used for cleaning etc)

- cow dung being similarly antiseptic unlike any other faeces

My limited understanding of cows milk is that it is toxic for human consumption (based on multiple studies in multiple countries). Why is this fundamental information not in the Vedas? What has changed from Satya Yuga to Kali (apart from the multiple pollutants found in most food sources).

Milk is fundamentally designed to raise a tiny calf from birth to childhood - even the cows do no ingest milk in later life. It is only created by cows when they are pregnant (or artificially impregnated, as in dairy production) and about to give birth, just like every other mammal.

I would be very grateful if anyone can provide any clarity on this.

Hare Krishna

Hare Krsna

2 Answers